Theft of Property 1st Degree in Alabama
The crime of theft in Alabama is committed when someone steals another’s property or services without consent and with the aim to deprive the owner of their property or services. Taking another’s property or services might be done physically or through fraudulent means. Taking lost goods without making reasonable efforts to locate the owner is also theft.
Classification of Theft Offenses and Penalties in Alabama
In Alabama, there are four levels of theft of property crimes. The value of the allegedly stolen item(s) usually determines the extent to which an individual can be charged. In Alabama, theft of property in the first degree is classified as a Class B felony, with penalties ranging from 2 to 20 years in prison if the alleged value exceeds $2,500. Ala. Code § 13A-8-3
Theft in the second degree is classified as a Class C felony, with penalties ranging from 1 to 10 years in jail. Theft 2nd happens when the property involved is worth more than $1,500 but less than $2,500. It may also apply if a firearm, controlled substance, or livestock (of any value) is suspected of being stolen.
Theft of property 3rd is a Class D felony for anything worth $500 to $1,499 dollars. Theft of property in the fourth degree is defined as taking property worth less than $500 and not taking it from the person of another. Theft of property in the fourth degree is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one (1) year in county jail.
Is Theft in Alabama a Felony or Misdemeanor?
Felony and misdemeanor are the two basic classifications in Alabama Theft of Property cases. Property theft in the first, second, and third degrees are all considered felonies. If a case is classified as Theft of Property of the Fourth Degree, it is classified as a misdemeanor.
The fines or jail term for each offense will escalate depending on how many previous felony convictions a defendant has and the felony offense level for the new offense.
Because Alabama law mandates particular sentencing standards, prosecutors and judges are limited in their ability to handle cases. A court must provide a compelling basis for departing from sentencing guidelines. Generally, judges will adhere to the prescribed guidelines.
Alabama 1st-degree theft penalties
What is the punishment for theft of property in Alabama?
In Alabama, theft in the first degree is classified as a Class B felony, with penalties ranging from 2 to 20 years in prison if the alleged value exceeds $2,500. Theft in the second degree is classified as a Class C felony, with penalties ranging from 1 to 10 years in jail.
Alabama theft penalties could also include restitution, which is the payment of the value of the item taken to the lawful owner if the item could be returned in the same condition. Rehabilitative programs or probation may also be part of the sentence.
Alabama’s laws can be convoluted, and comprehending where a charge fits into the confusing system might be tough on your own. To adequately defend against Alabama theft fines, anyone facing these significant charges should contact an Alabama theft attorney as soon as possible.